/IMGA Board Member: 1st Term/ IOC Member


Graduated from the Kiev State Institute of Physical Culture (Ukraine) (1987); Doctor of pedagogy


“Sergii Bubka Sport Club” Founder and President (1990-2002), then Honorary President (2002-); Member of the Ukrainian Parliament and its Committee for Youth, Culture and Sport and Tourism (2002-2006); Member of the Cabinet of Ministers in Ukraine as Chief Advisor to Prime Minister on sports (2002-2005); Member of the Humanitarian Council of the President of Ukraine; Member of the Presidential Council (2005-2010); UNESCO Ambassador and Champion for Sport

Sports practised

Athletics (pole vault)

Sports career

Participated in four editions of the Games of the Olympiad: Seoul 1988 (gold medallist), Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000; ten-time World Champion (outdoor: 1983, 1987, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1997 and indoor: 1985, 1987, 1991, 1995); gold medallist in the World Cup (1985), European Championships (1986), European Cup (1985); world record beaten 35 times; voted world’s best athlete on several occasions

Sports administration

Athletes’ Commission Chair at the European Olympic Committees (EOC) (2001-2002); Athletes’ Commission member at the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) (2001-2011); IAAF Competition Commission member (2003-2015); IAAF Council member (2001); Member of the Council of the Ukrainian National Olympic Committee then President (2005-); IAAF Senior Vice-President (2007-2011, 2015-); IAAF Vice-President (2011-2015); Chairman (2011-2015), then Member (2016-) of the IAAF Development Commission; Chairman of the Coordination Commission of the IAAF World Championships in Daegu 2011 (2008-2011); Council Member of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) (2009-2017); Chairman of the Evaluation Commission of the IAAF World Championships 2015 (2010); Chairman of the Coordination Commission of the IAAF World Championships in Moscow in 2013; member of the IAAF International Relations Commission (2016-)

IOC History

Member of the Executive Board as athletes’ representative (2000-2008); Member of the Executive Board (2012-2020); Member (1996-2002), Chair (2002-2008), then Honorary Member (2008-2015) of the Athletes’ Commission; Member of IOC Disciplinary Commission in Athens 2004, Turin 2006 and Beijing 2008; Chair of Evaluation and then Coordination Commission for the first Summer Youth Olympic Games Singapore 2010 (2007-2011); Chair of the following Commissions: Entourage (2010-2015), Athletes’ Entourage (2015-); Member of the following Commissions: Eligibility (1998), “IOC 2000” (1999), Evaluation for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad in 2008 (2001), “IOC 2000” Reform Follow-up (2002), Coordination for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad Beijing 2008 (2005-2008), Coordination for the Games of the XXXI Olympiad Rio 2016 (2010-2016), Coordination for the 3rd Winter Youth Olympic Games Lausanne 2020 (2015-2020)