Floorball at IMGA Master Games

Floorball is a type of floor hockey with five players and a goalkeeper in each team. Men and women play indoors with sticks and a plastic ball with holes. Matches are played in three twenty-minute periods. Floorball was included in the World Games for the first time in 2017 in Wrocław, Poland. Sweden were the first World Games gold medal winners.

The game was invented in Sweden in the late 1960s. The basic rules were established in 1979 when the first floorball club in the world, Sala IBK, from Sala, was founded in Sweden. Official rules for matches were first written down in 1981.


Age categories

Men: 35+, 45+, 50+
Women: 35+

The age category you will compete in for Floorball will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For example, if you are 34 during Games time but have turned 35 by 31 December, you would compete in the 35-44 age category. Competitors can compete in one age category per event.

2023 Results

View the EMG Tampere 2023 Floorball M35 – M40 results
View the EMG Tampere 2023 Floorball M50 results

Past Results

View the EMG Torino 2019 Floorball results

The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.