Tennis at IMGA Masters Games

> Registrations are open for 2023 European Masters Games Tampere
> Registrations are open for 2023 Asia pacific Masters Games South Korea

Tennis is a racket sport that can be played individually against a single opponent (singles) or between two teams of two players each (doubles).

The object of the game is to manoeuvre the ball in such a way that the opponent is not able to play a valid return. The player who is unable to return the ball will not gain a point, while the opposite player will.

Tennis is an Olympic sport and is played at all levels of society and at all ages. The modern game of tennis originated in Birmingham, England, in the late 19th century as lawn tennis.

The four Grand Slam tournaments (also referred to as the Majors) are especially popular: the Australian Open played on hard courts, the French Open played on red clay courts, Wimbledon played on grass courts, and the US Open also played on hard courts.

Age categories

Men & Women: 30+, 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+, 75+, 80+

For the Games, your age is determined as at 31 December. In line with the sport-specific rules, an athlete can compete in a younger age group, however can only enter one age category and division per event. For doubles events the age of the youngest player in the doubles pair will determine the age category.

Possible events and disciplines

Mixed Doubles

Grade Definitions

A Grade – Open: This category is for tournament and competition players
B Grade – Recreational: This category is for club and social players.


Past Results

View the WMG Portland 1998 Tennis Results
View the WMG Melbourne 2002 Tennis Results
View the WMG Sydney 2009 Tennis Results
View the WMG Torino 2013 Tennis Results
View the EMG Nice 2015 Tennis Results
View the AMG Vancouver 2016 Tennis Results
View the WMG Auckland 2017 Tennis Results
View the EMG Torino 2019 Tennis Results


The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.