Volleyball at IMGA Masters Games

Volleyball is a team sport in which two teams of six players are separated by a net. Each team tries to score points by grounding a ball on the other team’s court under organised rules. It has been a part of the official program of the Summer Olympic Games since Tokyo 1964.

The first country outside the United States to adopt volleyball was Canada in 1900. The first World Championships were held in 1949 for men and 1952 for women. The sport is now popular in Brazil, in Europe (where especially Italy, the Netherlands, and countries from Eastern Europe have been major forces since the late 1980s), in Russia, and in other countries including China and the rest of Asia, as well as in the United States.

Beach volleyball, a variation of the game played on sand and with only two players per team, became a FIVB-endorsed variation in 1987 and was added to the Olympic program at the 1996 Summer Olympics.

Discover Volleyball at Cleveland 2024

Discover Beach Volley at Cleveland 2024


Age categories

Men & Women: 30+, 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+

The age category you will compete in for Volleyball will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For example, if you are 39 during Games time but have turned 40 by 31 December, you would compete in the 40+ age category. For teams, the category you compete in is based on the age of the youngest team member.


Possible events and disciplines

Beach Volleyball – Pairs and Fours


Grades definition

A Grade – Open: This category is for tournament and competition players.

B Grade – Recreational: This category is for social players and beginners.

  • Competitors can compete in up to two teams, in different age categories and different grades.
  • Competitors can only compete in one ‘odd’ age category and one ‘even’ age category (eg. One from 35+, 45+, 55+ or 65+, and one from 30+, 40+, 50+, 60+ or 70+)
  • Competitors can compete in both indoor and beach volleyball.


Check Volleyball results previous events



The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.