Badminton at IMGA Master Games

Badminton is a racquet sport played using racquets to hit a shuttlecock across a net. Although it may be played with larger teams, the most common forms of the game are “singles” (with one player per side) and “doubles” (with two players per side).  

The game developed in British India from the earlier game of battledore and shuttlecock. European play came to be dominated by Denmark but the game has become very popular in Asia, with recent competitions dominated by China. Since 1992, badminton has been a Summer Olympic sport with four events: men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, and women’s doubles, with mixed doubles added four years later.   

At high levels of play, the sport demands excellent fitness: players require aerobic stamina, agility, strength, speed, and precision. It is also a technical sport, requiring good motor coordination and the development of sophisticated racquet movements. 


Age categories

Men & Women Singles and Doubles: 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+, 75+, 80+
Mixed Doubles: 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+, 75+, 80+
Mixed Teams Event: 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+, 65+, 70+, 75+, 80+

The age category you will compete in for Badminton will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For example, if you are 39 during Games time but have turned 40 by 31 December, you would compete in the 40+ age category. The age of the youngest player on the team will determinate the team’s age category.


Possible events and disciplines

Men’s Singles
Women’s Singles
Men’s Doubles
Women’s Doubles
Mixed Doubles
Mixed Team event

> Discover more about the sports program at IMGA World Masters Games Kansai 2021

Grade definitions

A Grade: Open – For elite players who have competed at an international or national team level and for national, state or provincial master’s champions.

B Grade: Competitive – For competitive players who have competed in state or provincial championships, elite club players and upper and middle grade local and interclub players.

C Grade: Recreational – For players who play in non-competitive or lower-grade club leagues, as well as social and casual players.

Teams must enter in the grade of the highest-level player.


Past Results

View the WMG Portland 1998 Badminton Results
View the WMG Melbourne 2002 Badminton Results
View the WMG Sydney 2009 Badminton Results
View the WMG Torino 2013 Badminton Results
View the WMG Nice 2015 Badminton Results
View the AMG Vancouver 2016 Badminton Results
View the WMG Auckland 2017 Badminton Results
View the APMG Penang 2018 Badminton Results
View the WMG Torino 2019 Badminton Results

The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.