Teakwondo at IMGA Masters Games

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art, characterised by its emphasis on head-height kicks, jumping spinning kicks, and fast kicking techniques.

Like Tang Soo Do, Taekwondo always requires wearing a dobok. It is a combative sport and was developed during the 1940s and 1950s by Korean martial artists with experience in martial arts such as karate, Chinese martial arts, and indigenous Korean martial arts traditions such as Taekkyon, Subak, and Gwonbeop. The oldest governing body for Taekwondo is the Korea Taekwondo Association (KTA), formed in 1959 through a collaborative effort by representatives from the nine original kwans, or martial arts schools, in Korea.

Age categories

Kyorugi (Kombat): Men and Women 30+, 35+, 45+
Poomsae (Form): Men and Women 30+, 35+, 41+, 51+, 61+.

The age category you will compete in for Taekwondo will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For example, if you are 44 during Games time but have turned 45 by 31 December, you would compete in the 45+ age category.


Weight Categories

Male – Kg. 58, 68, 80, 80+
Female – Kg. 49, 57, 67, 67+


Possible events and disciplines

Kyorugi (Kombat)
Poomsae (Form)


Grades definition

Competitive: This grade is for teams consisting of players with international or national experience.

Recreational: This grade is for teams consisting of players without international or national experience

Competitors can compete in one age category and one weight category.

Check Taekwondo results previous events


The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.