Table Tennis at IMGA Master Games

Table tennis, also known as ‘ping-pong’ and ‘whiff-whaff’, is a sport in which two or four players hit a lightweight ball, also known as the ping-pong ball, back and forth across a table using small racquets. The game takes place on a hard table divided by a net. Play is fast and demands quick reactions. Spinning the ball alters its trajectory and limits an opponent’s options, giving the hitter a great advantage.

Table tennis is governed by the worldwide organisation International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF), founded in 1926. ITTF currently includes 226 member associations. Table tennis has been an Olympic sport since 1988, with several event categories. From 1988 until 2004, these were men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles and women’s doubles. Since 2008, a team event has been played instead of the doubles.

Discover Table Tennis at Cleveland 2024


Age categories

Men & Women: 30+, 40+, 50+, 60+, 70+, 80+

The age category you will compete in for Table Tennis will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For example, if you are 39 during Games time but have turned 40 by 31 December, you would compete in the 40+ age category. The youngest player in the pair/team will determine the age category.


Possible events and disciplines

Mixed Doubles


Grade definitions

Competitive – For all players who have competed at an international or national team level, and those who have competed in national, provincial/state championships, and club players.

Social – This grade is for those who play in non-competitive leagues and for social and casual players.

Check Table Tennis results previous events


The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.