Age categories

Competitive Men/Women: 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+
Social Men/Women: 35+, 45+, 55+

The age category you will compete in for Hockey will be determined as at 31 December of the year of the event. For team sports, the category you compete in is based on the age of the youngest team member. For example, if your youngest team member is 39 during Games time but has turned 40 by 31 December, you would compete in the 40+ age category.


Possible events and disciplines

11 a side:
A Grade – Competitive
B Grade – Social

5 a side:
B Grade – Social


Grade definitions

A Grade – Competitive: This elite grade is for teams with at least three players with international or national experience. The other team members are expected to be at a state/ province/ elite club player level.

B Grade – Recreational/Social: This grade is for those players who participate in lower grade leagues and for social and casual players.

A player can only participate in one team in the hockey competition.


Past Results

View the WMG Melbourne 2002 Field Hockey Results
View the WMG Sydney 2009 Field Hockey Results
View the WMG Torino 2013 Field Hockey Results
View the PMG Vancouver 2016 Field Hockey Results
View the WMG Auckland 2017 Field Hockey Results
View the AMG Penang 2018 Field Hockey Results
View the EMG Torino 2019 Field Hockey Results

The IMGA doesn’t allow building new venues and encourages the host cities to use existing facilities to keep the costs lower. Therefore, the following information is subject to changes depending on the venues available.

Postponed: Kansai 2021