PhD Teacher of physical education, Budapest University of Physical Education (Hungary) (1964); coaching diploma in football and gymnastics; postgraduate course in arts at the Eotvos Lorand University (Hungary); Doctor of political sciences (1983)



Department of Sports (1965-1968) then Deputy State Secretary (1983-1989) of the Ministry of Sports and Physical Education (Hungary); appointed professor of the University of Physical Education of Budapest; lecturing and visiting professor at the Faculty of Diplomatics and International Relations of the Budapest Corvinus University of Economic Sciences

Sports practiced

Gymnastics, football, sailing, basketball

Sports administration

Secretary General of Hungarian weightlifting federation (1968-1983); Secretary General (1989-2005) then Honorary Secretary General of the Hungarian National Olympic Committee (NOC) (2005-); President of Hungarian Olympic Academy (1989-); Secretary General (1975-2000) then President (2000-) of the International Weightlifting Federation (IWF); Council member (1978-1988) then Vice-President (1988-) of SportAccord (formerly General Association of International Sports Federations – GAISF); Council member of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) (1988-1992); ASOIF Representative on the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Foundation Board (1999-); President of the Organising Committee of the 104th IOC Session in Budapest (Hungary) in 1995

Awards and distinctions

Award presented by the BESEFESE President (Bulgaria) (1986); State Order of Merit presented by the President of the Republic of Korea (1988); several Hungarian state and sports awards including the Officer’s Cross of the Republic of Hungary; Madara Horseman Order 1st Degree by the President of the Republic of Bulgaria (2000); Officer’s Cross of the Republic of Poland; Award of the Republic of Finland; Doctor honoris causa in public administration from Hanyang University, Seoul (Republic of Korea) (2008); Olympic Order (2010)

IOC History

Member of the IOC as President of an International Federation from 2000 to 2010; Honorary Member since 2010; member of the following Commissions: Sport for All (1985-2014), sub-commission on Out-of-Competition Testing (1993), Olympic Movement (1995-1999), International Relations (2005-2014)

World Masters Games